Thursday, 7 August 2008

Devaluing your record collection one track at a time - Soundgarden Superunknown Singles Box

That rarities comp Kim Thayil spoke about doesn't look like it'll ever see the light of day, so I'm ripping the B-sides of the Soundgarden Singles Box they released with Superunknown. There's tons of good stuff in there, so it took a while. But it's here.

1. Cold Bitch
2. Exit StoneHenge (Kim Thayil sings!)
3. Beyond The Wheel (Live - Toronto 93)
4. Fell on Black Days (Live - Detroit 93)
5. Birth Ritual (Demo)
6. Jesus Christ Pose (Live - Sturgis 93)
7. My Wave (Live - Long Island 93)
8. Spoonman (Steve Fisk Remix)
9. Girl U want (Devo Cover)
10. Fell on Black Days (Demo - Early Version)
11. Kyle Petty, Son of Richard
12. Like Suicide (Acoustic)
13. Kickstand (Live 93)

Download them all *here* (and don't say I never do nothing nice for you).

Omitted Tracks: All Superunknown originals, the video version of Fell on Black days which is basically just a live studio take (do you need four versions?). Interestingly, there must be at least four full concerts from August 1993 in the A&M vaults (Toronto, Sturgis, Detroit, Long Island). While they were never considered a great band outside of a club setting, surely one of those shows would be up to snuff as a live record? Cash raking internet only release?

And while we're at it, there are as many b-sides again for the rest of their A&M catalogue, as well as a few soundtrack appearances. Fresh Deadly Roses, Blind Dogs, Can you see me?, Into the Void (Sealth), Stray Cat Blues, Karaoke, Jerry Garcia's Finger, Big Bottom, Earache My Eye, She's a politician, Slaves and Bulldozers (live). UMG is missing a mid price, double disc trick there.

No comments: